Introducing: Pablo and The Appleheads

DSC03529pabloandtheappleheads_002_8MPx_rbq

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Hailing all the way from sunny Barcelona, indie-pop rockers, Pablo and The Appleheads, are stamping their name on the door of new music circles with their retro-inspired sound and new single ‘Zaida’.

Front-man, Pablo Villavecchia was born into a world of music, with his mother earning a living as a singer and his father playing saxophone in Spanish rock band, Loquillo y los Trogloditas. As a result, Pablo was also destined for a career on the stage.

He would dance to videos of his favourite artists as a child, but it wasn’t until Pablo was around 19 that he began to pick up the guitar (taught by his mother) and write his own material. Inspired by classic artists from across the decades, such as David Bowie, The Police, The Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Radiohead, Nirvana and Blur, Pablo took a plethora of influences into the creation of his own songs, the product of which is a super catchy, hook-led form of indie pop that draws on the simple and effective song structuring of these iconic artists, and blends it with modern production techniques.

Pablo noted that:

“During the first years of my life, I grew up listening to The Police, a band that became my favourite from all the music my parents were playing back then. It was a little bit later, during the nineties when I started to listen to stuff like Nirvana, Oasis and Blur and I can say that I was highly influenced by them. Some time after that I discovered Radiohead and was totally obsessed with their music, especially ‘The Bends’, ‘Ok Computer’ and their later album ‘In Rainbows’.”

“I started my songwriting being really inspired by them. I wanted to be like Thom Yorke. I had always regarded The Beatles, Pink Floyd, The Rolling Stones, the Beach Boys and David Bowie as great bands and musicians, but didn’t get into their songwriting until later when advised by my father who told me: “All these bands that you like are great and it’s great to be influenced by them, but it’s always better to be inspired from who they learnt from than to learn directly from them – it will make you more original.”

“That advice stuck in my head so I started getting into the classics as well and the way they had written music. I must say that The Beatles, and particularly John Lennon’s songwriting became very important for me, but also, Elliott Smith became a significant point of reference.”

“Overall I would say my primordial inspirations come from the 60’s 70’s and 90’s – The nineties being the time that I like the most because of the fact that after a period during the 80’s of a very “plastic” scene with tons of reverb and synthesizers, suddenly the more ‘Classic’ Pop- Rock came onto scene in the US with bands like the Pixies and Nirvana and in the UK with Radiohead, Oasis, Blur and The Verve. What I like about them all (although I must say  that the UK sound always remained a little bit more of my taste than their American counterparts) is the fact that they have that vintage rock reminiscence with a very potent and carefully handled studio sound, powerful lyrics, and no flattery. Because at the end of the day, a good album is all about the details.”

Listen to Pablo’s new single ‘Zaida’ here:

 

Find out more on Pablo and The Appleheads here:

https://www.facebook.com/pabloandtheappleheads/?fref=nf

https://twitter.com/PabloAppleheads

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCP_7SXqgXIeHNFZjLi4Ss9w

https://pabloandtheappleheads.com/

Leave a Reply

